Goshuin Ledger

Senso-ji goshuin: where to go, when the desk is open, and what to prepare

Senso-ji gives its goshuin at Yogodo Hall (影向堂), on the west side of the main hall — on your left as you face it. The temple’s own page gives the hours as 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., with special hours at New Year and on Shiman-rokusen-nichi (9–10 July), and lists two goshuin: one for the principal image, Sho Kanzeon Bosatsu, and one for Daikokuten of the Asakusa Seven Lucky Gods. Those are not the main hall’s hours (6:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., opening at 6:30 a.m. from October to March), so plan around the earlier closing time. The temple’s website does not state the amount to offer or whether a pre-written sheet is given, so ask about both at the desk. Every fact here was checked against the temple’s website on 4 October 2026.

Published: by 友田 陽大 (the developer of Goshuin Ledger)

The key points of this article

  • Goshuin at Senso-ji are given at Yogodo Hall (影向堂), west of the main hall — on your left as you face the main hall.
  • The temple’s page gives goshuin hours as 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.; New Year and 9–10 July have special hours that it does not list.
  • Three timetables are easy to mix up: the goshuin desk, the main hall (6:00 or 6:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.) and the grounds.
  • Two goshuin are offered: the principal image, Sho Kanzeon Bosatsu, and Daikokuten of the Asakusa Seven Lucky Gods.
  • Asakusa Shrine next door is a separate institution with its own goshuin, its own office and its own hours.

This article covers one temple, and only what its own website says. Where the website is silent, the article says so instead of filling the gap. If this page and the temple’s website ever disagree, the temple’s website is right, and on the day what you are told at the hall outranks both.

Where do you get a goshuin at Senso-ji?

At Yogodo Hall (影向堂), on the west side of the main hall — on your left as you stand facing the main hall. The temple’s goshuin page says requests are taken at Yogodo Hall, and the page about the hall itself describes it as the temple’s goshuin office. The English page of the temple’s website uses the same name, “Yogodo Hall”, and marks it as the place to receive the temple’s seal.

It is a separate building from the main hall, not a counter inside it. The hall’s own page places it to the north-west of the main hall, so when you stand facing the main hall you are looking for a hall beyond its left-hand side.

Goshuin books are available at the same hall. The temple’s page says to ask there if you would like one.

When is the goshuin desk open?

From 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., according to the temple’s goshuin page, with special hours at New Year and on Shiman-rokusen-nichi. The English page of the temple’s website dates Shiman-rokusen-nichi as 9–10 July. What the special hours actually are is not written on either page.

Three different timetables apply to one visit, and they are easy to run together. Each row below gives the source it came from; all were checked on 4 October 2026.

What Hours the source gives Source
Goshuin at Yogodo Hall 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.; special hours at New Year and on 9–10 July (not listed) Senso-ji’s goshuin page
Main hall 6:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.; opens at 6:30 a.m. from October to March Senso-ji’s website (shown at the foot of each page)
Other halls “Please enquire” Senso-ji’s website
Grounds No hours are given by the temple. Taito City’s tourism site says the grounds can be entered at any hour, while the main hall and the other buildings have opening and closing times Taito City’s official tourism site

Two things follow for planning. The desk closes before the main hall does, so the time to plan around is 4:30 p.m., not 5:00 p.m. And the grounds being open says nothing about the desk: an evening walk through the lit-up grounds is not a visit on which you can receive a goshuin.

If Senso-ji is one of several stops in a day, the before-you-go checklist shows how to build the day around the earliest closing time rather than the last one.

Which goshuin does Senso-ji offer?

Two: the goshuin of the principal image, Sho Kanzeon Bosatsu, and the goshuin of Daikokuten, one of the Asakusa Seven Lucky Gods. That is how the temple’s goshuin page lists them. Daikokuten is enshrined in the outer part of Yogodo Hall, which is why both are given at the same place.

The temple describes a goshuin as something received as proof of having visited. If the word is new to you, what a goshuin is, and what it is not explains why that phrase matters and why it is not a souvenir stamp.

What to prepare before you go

A book or a plan to ask for one, small change, and the visit itself done first. None of this takes long, and all of it is easier to settle before you are standing in the queue.

  1. Go to the main hall first. The temple calls the goshuin proof of your visit, so the visit comes before the request. Shrine associations word the same order more directly — the Miyagi Prefecture Shrine Association’s etiquette page opens with “visit before the goshuin”.
  2. Bring your goshuin book, or ask for one at Yogodo Hall. Open it to the page you would like written before you hand it over.
  3. Have coins ready. The amount is not on the temple’s website; ask at the desk.
  4. Know the sentence you will say. It is short, and how to ask for a goshuin in Japanese gives it with the reading.
  5. Wait quietly, and do not photograph the person writing. The same etiquette page asks visitors not to speak to the writer and not to photograph the writing without permission.
  6. Arrive with time to spare before 4:30 p.m. The temple’s website gives no waiting times, so treat any figure you read elsewhere as one visitor’s afternoon.

What the temple’s website does not tell you

The amount to offer, whether a goshuin may be given as a pre-written sheet, the special hours at New Year and on 9–10 July, and how long the wait is. None of the four appears on the temple’s website as of 4 October 2026.

Third-party guides in English do give figures for some of these, and when we compared them they did not agree with one another on the hours or on the amount. That is not a criticism of anyone’s account of their own visit; it is the reason this article leaves those lines blank. Ask at the desk.

If you are handed a sheet of paper rather than having your book written in, nothing has gone wrong. What a goshuin on separate paper is, and what to do with it covers that case.

Senso-ji and Asakusa Shrine are two different places

Asakusa Shrine (浅草神社) stands beside the temple, and it is a separate Shinto shrine with its own goshuin. If you treat the whole area as one place, you cannot tell afterwards which page came from which.

The shrine’s own goshuin page lists three goshuin of its own, asks visitors to worship before receiving one, and says it takes one book per person. The hours on its website are office hours — 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. on weekdays, and until 4:30 p.m. on weekends and public holidays — and the page adds that hours and handling can change with how crowded the day is. It does not give separate hours for goshuin. All of this was checked on 4 October 2026.

Both websites show the same street address. Tell the two apart by the name on the building: 浅草寺 for the temple, 浅草神社 for the shrine.

After you receive it: keep the name with the page

Photograph the page before you leave the hall’s surroundings, and note “Senso-ji” and the date in the same place. It takes a few seconds on the day and cannot be done afterwards.

The reason is on the page itself. On the sample shown on the temple’s goshuin page, the large writing down the middle is 聖観世音 — the name of the principal image. The temple’s name is written smaller, at the lower left, and the date on the left is a Japanese era year rather than the calendar year on your phone. Three weeks later, among a dozen pages, the biggest characters on this one will not say “Senso-ji”.

A note in your phone is enough. If you would rather keep the photograph, the name and the visit date together in one record, that is what Goshuin Ledger does: you add the photo, choose the temple from the list bundled with the app or type its name, and the visit date starts from the date the photo was taken. The app does not read the name off the page for you. Recording in your first book needs no purchase.

When the pages have piled up anyway, how to work out which temple or shrine a goshuin came from goes through the clues in order, and how a Japanese-era date is written on a goshuin explains the date on the left.

Sources, and when they were checked

All checked on 4 October 2026. The temple’s and the shrine’s pages show no date of their own, so re-check them before you travel.

  • Senso-ji, goshuin page (Japanese): senso-ji.jp/visit/jumotsu3.html — place, hours, the two goshuin, goshuin books, and the main hall’s hours at the foot of the page.
  • Senso-ji, Yogodo Hall page (Japanese): senso-ji.jp/guide/guide07.html — the hall as the temple’s goshuin office; Daikokuten in the outer part of the hall.
  • Senso-ji, English page: senso-ji.jp/english/ — the name “Yogodo Hall”; Shiman-rokusen-nichi on 9–10 July.
  • Taito City’s official tourism site: t-navi.city.taito.lg.jp/event/1419 — entry to the grounds. This is the city’s statement, not the temple’s.
  • Asakusa Shrine, goshuin page (Japanese): asakusajinja.jp/goshuin/ — its own goshuin, the request to worship first, office hours.
  • Miyagi Prefecture Shrine Association, goshuin etiquette (Japanese): miyagi-jinjacho.or.jp/omairi/gosyuin.html — visit first, small change, quiet while the goshuin is written.
  • What the app does: Goshuin Ledger 1.10.0, the version on the App Store on 4 October 2026.

Frequently asked questions

What time does the Senso-ji goshuin desk close?
The temple’s goshuin page gives 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., and says New Year and Shiman-rokusen-nichi (9–10 July) have special hours without listing them. That is half an hour before the main hall closes at 5:00 p.m., so a late-afternoon visit can reach the main hall and still miss the desk. This was checked on the temple’s website on 4 October 2026; on the day, what you are told at the hall is what counts.
How much do you offer for a goshuin at Senso-ji?
The temple’s website does not state an amount (checked on 4 October 2026), and this article does not guess one. Ask at the desk. Have coins ready rather than a large note: the Miyagi Prefecture Shrine Association’s etiquette page, written about shrines in general, reminds visitors to prepare small change.
Can I receive a goshuin at Senso-ji if I do not have a goshuin book yet?
The temple’s page says goshuin books are also available at Yogodo Hall, so you can ask for one there before you ask for the goshuin. Whether a goshuin is given on a loose sheet instead is not stated on the temple’s website, so ask at the desk rather than rely on what another visitor was given.
Is the Asakusa Shrine goshuin the same as the Senso-ji one?
No. Asakusa Shrine (浅草神社) is a Shinto shrine beside the temple and a separate institution. It gives its own goshuin, and its website carries its own office hours; where on its grounds they are given is not stated there. Both websites show the same street address, so tell the two apart by the name on the building rather than by the address.
What does the writing on a Senso-ji goshuin say?
On the sample shown on the temple’s goshuin page, the large writing down the middle reads 聖観世音 — the name of the principal image, not the name of the temple. The temple’s name, 浅草寺, is written smaller at the lower left, with 金龍山 on the right and the date on the left. It is worth knowing before you get home: the largest characters on a page are not always the name of the place.